Menu Close

Mary Morrison Davis Award


  • To recognize an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the Association or to the field of gerontology


  • record of ongoing commitment and dedication to the Association or to the field of gerontology
  • demonstrated significant contribution(s)
  • has not won the award before


  • President places notice in Fall Edition of Newsletter calling for nomination approximately six months before annual meeting
  • members are eligible to make nominations accompanied by documentation outlining the outstanding contribution(s) (see attached); nomination form requires support of two individuals, at least one of whom is an AAG member
  • nominations reviewed by Executive Committee
  • recommendation made to the Board of Directors
  • Board of Directors accepts (or rejects) recommendation
  • individual is notified of the award in writing by the President
  • if no suitable nominations are received, the award will not be given out that year


  • award presented during Annual General meeting
  • announcement made in Newsletter


  • certificate indicating the name of the award, the year, and the recipient’s name
  • confers Honorary life membership in AAG (no membership dues)

Information on Mary Morrison Davis

Mary Morrison Davis was born in Alberta and lived and worked in Alberta most of her 80 some years.  She was a professional social worker with a master’s degree of social work from McGill University.  She worked with veterans in Edmonton and soon became aware of the gaps in services and the needs of older people in her work with veterans.

She was one of the driving forces behind the organization of the first conference on aging held in Alberta in 1967.  This conference resulted in the establishment of the Alberta Council on Aging – a small seniors’ volunteer office in the beginning.

Mary was also interested in providing more services for seniors in the Edmonton area where she worked.  She helped to organize a community group that established the Society for the Retired and Semi-Retired,  now a large senior centre in downtown Edmonton. The Society for the Retired and Semi-Retired began as a small office operating out of the YMCA and providing information and referral services to seniors. The society is now known as Sage – Seniors Association of Greater Edmonton – Seniors Association of Greater Edmonton.  Mary was a member of the Board of the society, and later President of the Board.

Mary was an early member of the national organization now called the Canadian Association on Gerontology, and was one of their early contacts in Alberta when they were just starting to develop.

She came to believe that the federal government needed input from seniors across Canada.  She organized a group of seniors from most of the provinces, applied for a grant from the New Horizons program, and organized a meeting of the group in Ottawa.  Out of this effort, the National Advisory Council on Aging was formed.

She was active in many aspects of the field of aging and in many projects to improve services and the well-being of seniors.  She was well known locally, provincially and nationally.  Mary was knowledgeable about gerontological issues and literature, and served as mentor to many workers just beginning work in the field of gerontological services at a time when there were few publications available.

She received the Order of Canada for her volunteer activities and services to others.

She was always active to the end of her life – always interested in improving services to older people.  When she became afflicted with macular degeneration which resulted in reduced vision, she went to the CNIB in Edmonton and set up a support group for seniors with low vision.

When she died, the AAG Board felt that such an accomplished and vital person deserved some type of special recognition as a pioneer in gerontological services.  Consequently the AAG Board agreed to rename their Award of Excellence, the Mary Morrison Davis Award.  We felt it was appropriate to name an award of excellence after such an exemplary champion of aging and older people.

Deadline: May 3, 2019

Back to top